Uzodinma Iweala for Speak No Evil

06:30 pm - 03/18/2018

@ Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill

1517 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington DC  20036



In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's new novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

UZODINMA IWEALA received the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the Academy of Arts and Letters, the New York Public Library Young Lions 2006 Fiction Award, and the 2006 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for Beasts of No Nation. In 2007, he was selected as one of Granta's Best Young American Novelists. A graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, he lives in New York City and Lagos, Nigeria.

Show Map

Categories: American Restaurant, Bar, Book Store, Bookstore

Report a Problem

Washington Tweets

Washington - USA
Washington - USA
3:26 Now #Asr Prayer Time for #Washington #Usa

GALA Theatre
GALA Theatre
RT @OASFCU: LAST MINUTE DEAL!!! $10 Tix to #tonight's performance of #TheOldManTheYouthAndTheSea at 8 pm at @TeatroGALA Use code SNOW10 onl…

TMJ-WAS HRTA Jobs
TMJ-WAS HRTA Jobs
At Roti It’s simple – we hire people with Positive energy, who accomplish goals by supporting each other. We’re hir… https://t.co/9jvfuXaI4g

PoetWarrior
PoetWarrior
RT @URDailyHistory: Today in 1732: The first #President of the United States, George #Washington, is born in Bridges Creek, #Virginia. #Geo…

TMJ-WA Mgmt. Jobs
TMJ-WA Mgmt. Jobs
Check out our 44 latest #BusinessMgmt openings in #Washington by clicking the link in our bio.

Federico Schmid.-
Federico Schmid.-
RT @URDailyHistory: Today in 1732: The first #President of the United States, George #Washington, is born in Bridges Creek, #Virginia. #Geo…

Washington- DC Jobs
Washington- DC Jobs
Can you recommend anyone for these 35 jobs in #Washington? Click the link in our bio to see them.

TMJ-WAS Nursing Jobs
TMJ-WAS Nursing Jobs
We have 294 #Nursing jobs open today in #Washington. Check them out via the link in our bio.

Darius I. Baxter
Darius I. Baxter
RT @GOODProjectsDC: GOODTalks: On this episode we talk media influence on young people and the effect it has on aspirations and school atte…

ChinaMed
ChinaMed
RT @GulfStateAnalyt: Mohammed bin Salman (#MbS) shrugs off western fury with #China alliance @tkarasik: The Saudis "can't trust the Americ…