Uzodinma Iweala for Speak No Evil

06:30 pm - 03/18/2018

@ Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe & Grill

1517 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington DC  20036



In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer-an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders-and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's new novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

UZODINMA IWEALA received the Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the Academy of Arts and Letters, the New York Public Library Young Lions 2006 Fiction Award, and the 2006 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for Beasts of No Nation. In 2007, he was selected as one of Granta's Best Young American Novelists. A graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, he lives in New York City and Lagos, Nigeria.

Show Map

Categories: American Restaurant, Bar, Book Store, Bookstore

Report a Problem

Washington Tweets

BCG Attorney Search
BCG Attorney Search
#Bankruptcy and Creditors' Rights Associate #Attorney - #Washington, DC https://t.co/JHtccLrDBe

Washington Elite Matchmakers Dating
Washington Elite Matchmakers Dating
Leaders in #Washington, #Sacramento, #Dover, #Honolulu, #Richmond, #Concord, #Boston, #Hartford, #Trenton, #Juneau,… https://t.co/iIu2kISKbP

Shukoor Ahmed
Shukoor Ahmed
A friend of mine asked me to test an aggregator being a former travel couple of days. I found another cheaper fare… https://t.co/qqe5KRqBXw

DC Gift Shop
DC Gift Shop
Place an order for #ladies NBA #Washington #Wizards Charm #WATCH at https://t.co/662VKn1gCX : With #Japanese quart… https://t.co/XS5IKnbLui

Lauren Maffeo
Lauren Maffeo
What a time to be alive

Washington - USA
Washington - USA
9:14 Now #Isha Prayer Time for #Washington #Usa

Sketchy Antix
Sketchy Antix
really?? as if you dont get enough money from casinos and the government ...and NOW you want to destroy what we li… https://t.co/pup6gPDAgZ

Martin Johnstone
Martin Johnstone
Not bad 5 minutes walk from hotel. #Washington https://t.co/eJYgqOF1qK

MedStar Georgetown
MedStar Georgetown
Join the MGUH team! See our latest job opening here: https://t.co/EEASOESrsx #MoCo #Washington, DC